Yonggang Huang

Walter P. Murphy Professor
Northwestern University

Yonggang Huang is the Walter P. Murphy Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, and Materials Science and Engineering  at Northwestern University.  He has broad interests including stretchable and flexible electronics, epidermal electronics and transient electronics, and 3D fabrication of any materials.  He has published 1 book and more than 500 journal papers and book chapters, including high impact multi-disciplinary journals such as Science (2006, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015), Nature (2008, 2013 and 2016), and Cell (2015).

His awards include the Larson Memorial Award in 2003, Melville Medal in 2004, Richards Memorial Award in 2010, Drucker Medal in 2013, and Nadai Medai Medal in 2016, all from American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME); Young Investigator Medal from the Society of Engineering Sciences (SES) in 2006; International Journal of Plasticity Medal in 2007; Guggenheim Fellowship from the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation in 2008; ISI Highly Cited Researcher in Engineering in 2009 and in Materials Science in 2014 and 2015, and Honorary Professor at Nanjing University of Posts and Telecommunications (2009), Xi'an Jiaotong University (2014), Southwest Jiaotong Univeristy (2015), Nanjing Tech University (2016), Huazhong University of Science and Technology (2016), and Nanjing University of Science and Technology (2016). 

He is the Editor-in-Chief of Journal of Applied Mechanics (Transactions of the ASME), a member of the Executive Committee of Applied Mechanics Division at ASME, and the Past President of the SES.

Organised by

Endorsed by


        Supported by





        Supporting Media