Bernat Soria Escoms

Andalusian Center for Molecular Biology and Regenerative Medicine (CABIMER), Seville, Spain

Former Minister of Health and Consumer Affairs of Spain (2007-2009) and Member of Parliament (2008-2009), was previously Professor of Physiology and Director of the Institute of Bioengineering in Alicante, Spain (1986-2005), Director and Founder of CABIMER (Andalusian Center for Molecular Biology and Regenerative Medicine in Seville, Spain) (2005-2007) and is a Professor of Regenerative Medicine at the University Pablo de Olavide in Seville. He graduated from Valencia University (Spain, MD 1974, PhD 1978) and completed his postdoctoral studies at the Max Plank Institute for Biophysical Chemistry (Göttingen, Germany, 1978-80) and at the University of East Anglia, School of Biological Sciences (UK, 1980-82). He has been Visiting Prof in the National University of Singapore (National University Hospital 2002-2005), Chairman of the European Stem Cell Network and President of the European Association of Biophysical Societies (2000-2003). He has previously held posts such as the Presidency of the Spanish Society of Diabetes, the Spanish Society of Biophysics and the Spanish Society of Physiological Sciences. He has published more than 150 papers and edited 4 books. His work has received more than 5000 quotations in the fields of stem cell research, pancreatic islet biophysics and pathophysiology. His publication in Diabetes (2000) pioneered the field of stem cell differentiation of stem cells into insulin producing cells. Among others he has received the Prize and Gold Medal of the Royal Academy of Medicine (1989), Alberto Sols Prize (1997), Paul Harris Fellow (2003), Extraordinary Friend of the Autonomous Univ of Barcelona (2003), Medal of Andalucía (2004), Ibn-al-Jatib Prize (Granada, 2005), Galien International Prize (2006), Prize for the Best Idea of the Decade (stem cell research, 2009), the High Cross of the Carlos III Order from the King of Spain (2009), Doctor Honoris Causa (Univ Científica del Sur, 2013; Univ  Nacional Mayor de San Marcos, Peru 2014) and, more recently Honorary Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians (UK, 2015).

Organised by

Endorsed by


        Supported by





        Supporting Media